EHS Insider Blog

What is OSHA - Topic 4 - What do the OSHA Standards say?

What is OSHA: Topic 4 - What do the OSHA Standards say? A. Types of Standards Now, let’s talk briefly about the OSHA standards. OSHA standards fall into four categories: General Industry, Construction, Maritime, and Agriculture.
Topics: What is OSHA Safety Training

4 Ways to Improve the Achilles Heel of the Safety Program

Near Miss Reporting - the Achilles Heel of the Safety Program A near miss is a narrowly-avoided accident. Though it didn't result in injury or property damage, it may have if circumstances had been slightly different. According to OSHA, these close calls should be reported and investigated. Unfortunately, employees (and managers) often avoid reporting for a variety of reasons. They may feel pressured by their co-workers to keep working or they're afraid they'll be blamed for the close call if they mention it to their superiors. A difficult, complicated reporting process will also discourage people from reporting near misses.
Topics: Near Misses

OSHA Violations that Have Led to Jail Sentences

What Violations Can Lead to Imprisonment? Section 17 discusses penalties for OSHA violations and imprisonment is mentioned in a few subsections. For example: Willful violations resulting in death: An employer who knowingly violates standards can receive a fine and/or up to six months in jail. For a second conviction, jail time goes up to one year and/or a fine.
Topics: OSHA Violations